IFUT announces five €2,000 student bursaries

Mon. Oct 21st, 2013

The Irish Federation of University Teachers (IFUT) has announced it will award five student bursaries of €2,000 each as part of activities to celebrate the 50th anniversary of its Foundation.

The bursaries are open to students of any nationality currently registered for either undergraduate or postgraduate studies in the seven universities in the Republic of Ireland and the eight other Higher Education Institutions where IFUT is represented.

The bursaries are intended to provide financial support for travel and research in connection with undergraduate or postgraduate studies and publications. Applicant students should register details of their project and a relevant academic reference before December 31st. 

Completed submissions, which can be in the form of an extended essay, scholarly article, IT or audio-visual presentation, must be received by March 1st, 2014. 


IFUT General Secretary, Mike Jennings, said that the bursaries “are both a practical means of marking IFUTs positive contribution to developments in third level education over many decades and a recognition of the particular financial difficulties facing both undergraduate and postgrad students at the present time.”


Further information including Application forms and a full list of colleges covered by the bursaries can be downloaded from the IFUT website at http://www.ifut.ie

(Beidh failte roimh iarratais i nGaeilge)



For further information on this media release please contact:

John Gallagher, John Gallagher Consulting  Tel. 087 9369888

Mike Jennings, General Secretary, IFUT. Tel 087 6776747



Note to Editors:

The 15 third level institutions covered by the bursaries are:  University College Dublin;  Trinity College Dublin;  National University of Ireland Maynooth;  National University of Ireland Galway;  University College Cork;  Dublin City University; University of Limerick;  St Patrick’s College, Drumcondra;  Mary Immaculate College, Limerick;  Church of Ireland College of Education;  Mater Dei Institute of Education;  Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland;  Royal Irish Academy,  Dublin Institute for Advanced Studies,  All Hallows College.

Publication Date: 
Monday, October 21, 2013 - 16:15